Mark McGranaghan, EPRI, Vice President, Innovation

Mark McGranaghan is Vice President of Innovation at the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI). This involves coordinating across the EPRI research sectors in areas of Technology Innovation as well as developing and implementing strategy for international coordination around all areas of innovation.

Important areas of focus include EPRI’s public Thought Leadership presence, government research coordination and new technology demonstrations and challenges.

He has authored more than 70 technical papers and articles on topics ranging from power quality to insulation coordination of extra high-voltage (EHV) systems. He is an IEEE Fellow and in 2014 received the Charles Proteus Steinmetz Award for his expertise and dedication to power engineering standards development.

Mark McGranaghan

Mark McGranaghan, EPRI, Vice President, Innovation

Jonathan O'Sullivan, EirGrid, Manager, Innovation

Jonathan O’Sullivan has spent over 20 years working in the electricity industry in the planning, operation and markets design.   In this time he has developed an acknowledged expertise in the theoretical modelling of the system, the necessary practical operation practices and the requirements for a well designed and functional market. 

In recent years Jonathan has been central to the implementation of the first electricity market in Ireland in 2000, the first all island market in 2007, the development of the “Delivering a Secure sustainable power system” (DS3) programme which will deliver the secure and reliable operation of the Ireland and Northern Ireland power system with unprecedented levels of wind electricity by 2020.

Jonathan O'Sullivan

Jonathan O'Sullivan, EirGrid, Manager, Innovation

Industry Panel Session: Energy System 2030 and beyond…

Mo Cloonan, Team Lead Future Markets, EirGrid, Ireland

Mo Cloonan

Bernice Doyle, Head of Grid Service, Statkraft, Ireland

Bernice Doyle

David Connolly, CEO, Wind Energy Ireland

David Connolly

Ellen Diskin, Manager for Active System Management, ESB Networks, Ireland

Ellen Diskin

John Fitzgerald, CEO, SuperNode Ltd

Keith Bell, Professor in Smart Grids, University of Strathclyde, UK

Keith Bel